Skip to content

Why contaminating vegan food is a massive own goal

January 27, 2017


One of those sentiments I often hear is how vegans must learn to accept the decision of others not to become vegan, just like meat-eaters accept veganism.


Such people might be interested to know that there are some meat-eating individuals who have a very interesting way of “accepting” veganism; namely, spiking vegan food with animal products.

Ask most vegans about their views on this, and they’ll likely be totally disgusted, akin to how others would feel if someone uninated in their food*. That is, no doubt, the point in the food-spiking in the first place.

I, on the other hand, am merely bemused.

After all, you can bet these offenders don’t tell their victims what they have done, because such people don’t have the guts to face the consequences of an obviously antisocial action.

We only know about it because they brag about it on social media to other like-minded twits who are labouring under the delusion that the action actually serves some purpose.

You know what they say: what you don’t know can’t hurt you. In other words, secretly spiking a vegan’s food with animal products has absolutely no effect on them whatsoever. It would be like going on a protest without leaving your house, instead just waving banners around while alone in your kitchen.

My disgust for this behaviour (the food-spiking, not the banner-waving) is a different, less visceral sort; it doesn’t have to do with fear of contamination, it has to do with disappointment in the murky depths that the human psyche can plunge into. I don’t know what annoys me more, the antisocial nature of it, or the sheer stupidity.

I’ve eaten meat before. Lots of meat. I have already “contaminated” myself with animal products. I think it is unhealthy to dwell on these mistakes of the past, and irrational to feel ill from just thinking about such things.

So, if you spiked my food with meat, then said “Ha, ha, you just ate meat,” my reaction would be to shrug and say “No change there, then.” I’ve done my damage in this world. I haven’t taken it back by becoming vegan. I’ve simply stopped adding to it.

Therein lies the point. If I have not bought and consciously eaten the animal product, I am not responsible for it, any more than a person whose drink is spiked with roofies can be charged with a drug offence.

All you do by spiking my food with animal products is: a) waste your food, time, money and effort; and b) individually contribute more to the animal agriculture for no good reason, confirming my belief that you are a gigantic arse.

All just to “make a point”. Ironic, because they have missed the point. Veganism is about avoiding paying money into the industry, not about avoiding scraps of flesh because we’re all incredibly weak and highly strung, liable to burst into tears at the sight of animal flesh.

(Actually, it’s the meat-eaters who do that – they’re the ones who won’t watch animal slaughter footage.)

Moreover, by sharing their foul deeds all over social media, this lot do vegans a big favour. Reasonable non-vegans, who do not go around spiking vegan food, are quite as disgusted by it as we are.

I’ve noticed that when faced with the worst possible behaviour of members of your own group, it sheds doubt on your convictions. If you’re a Christian and Christians are intolerant while you are tolerant, you may lose your affiliation with the religion.

If you’re a comfortable non-vegan who thinks vegans are these extreme people who force their views on others, then you see non-vegans violating someone else’s beliefs and purposefully contaminating their food, you might not be quite so sure that it’s the vegans who are the nasty ones.

So, by all means continue being a twit. Sensible people will notice.


*Fun fact: wee is an animal product. Why not add some to your next non-vegan potluck?

Comments are closed.

